The Boltzmann Award was instituted by the Commission on Statistical Physics (C3) of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) to honour outstanding achievements in Statistical Physics. It is presented by the Commission at the International Conference on Statistical Physics (STATPHYS), which is held every three years. The latest conference, STATPHYS 22, has been held in Bangalore, India, in July, 2004.

The award consists of a gilded medal (the Boltzmann Medal). The front of the medal carries the inscription ``Ludwig Boltzmann, 1844--1906''


The Boltzmann award (2004) has been awarded to


     E. G. D. Cohen (The Rockefeller University)

     H. E. Stanley (Boston University)


The citations read as follows:


Ezechiel Godert David Cohen:


For his fundamental contributions to nonequilibrium statistical mechanics, including the development of a theory of transport phenomena in dense gases, and the characterization of measures and fluctuations in nonequilibrium stationary states.



H. Eugene Stanley:


For his influential contributions to several areas of statistical physics, including the theory of phase transitions and critical phenomena in spin systems and the percolation problem, and the application of these ideas to interpret the anomalous properties of liquid water.